Van Bistrow retires after more than four decades with the department. Thank you Van and best wishes!


The department is sad to report the passing of Professor Emeritus Hellmut Fritzsche, who Chaired the Department of Physics from 1977 to 1986.  You can read more about him in this UChicago News Article.


Professor Shinsei Ryu has recently been named a Simons Investigator by the Simons Foundation. This award is given to "outstanding theoretical scientists."  Congratulations Shinsei!


The Department of Physics welcomes Professor David Awschalom to the faculty!  He is also a Professor in the Institute for Molecular Engineering.


Congratulations to Professor Daniel Holz who has been promoted to full Professor!


Congratulations to Professor LianTao Wang who has been promoted to full Professor!


Professor Abigail Vieregg has recently been named a 2018 Cottrell Scholar by Research Corporation for being an outstanding early career teacher-scholar. She has also just been reappointed as Professor of Physics. Congratulations Abby!


Professor Stuart Gazes has received a 2018 Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.  Congratulations Stuart!


Professor Heinrich Jaeger has been elected a 2018 Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and was also awarded the Sewell L. Avery Distinguished Service Professorship.  Congratulations Heinrich!


Professor Emeritus and former Argonne Director Dean Eastman recently passed away.  He will be missed.  You can read a little about him and his interests at these links: scientific and personal.


Congratulations to Professor Emil Martinec who has been named a 2018 Simons Fellow in Theoretical Physics.