The department of physics welcomes Professor Linda Young to the faculty. She is also a Distinguished Fellow at Argonne National Laboratory and an expert in atomic physics and x-ray science.


Professor Bob Wald will receive the prestigious 2017 Einstein Prize from the American Physical Society for "...outstanding accomplishments in the field of gravitational physics". Congratulations, Bob!


Professor Heinrich Jaeger has received a 2016 Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring. He was previously honored with a Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.


Professor Scott Wakely, a high-energy astrophysicist, has been named Director of the Enrico Fermi Institute and was recently promoted to Full Professor.


Professor Margaret Gardel, an experimental biophysicist, was recently promoted to Full Professor.