News: 2023


Charles Mark Lewis won the 2024 Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award in Experimental Particle Physics

December 21, 2023

Citation: "For the development of techniques expanding the low-energy reach of new particle detector technologies, with applications in neutrino physics, dark matter searches, and the study of charged-lepton flavor violating modes of muon decay."


Dr. Katrina Miller awarded National Academies Award for Science Communications

November 15, 2023

Katrina Miller

Recent graduate Katrina Miller currently writes for the NYTimes. 


Takumi Matsuzawa Featured in Nature Physics

August 15, 2023

Controlled turbulence

Nature Physics journal features a cover image by Physics student Takumi Matsuzawa of IrvineLab.

Volume 19 Issue 8, August 2023

Professor Zoe Yan named 2023 Blavatnik Regional Awards for Young Scientists laureate

August 10, 2023

Professor Zoe Yan


Biophysicists from the Department of Physics and James Franck Institute Make Discovery

July 21, 2023

Image of cells (membranes stained white and nuclei stained magenta)


John B. Goodenough, Nobel-winning creator of the lithium-ion battery, dies at 100

June 27, 2023

Save the date, July 14, 2023, for the APS Historic Site Dedication to honor Stagg Field and Pile A

June 22, 2023


Symposium in Honor of John Schiffer, July 10-11, 2023

May 3, 2023


Professor Cordova featured in Quanta article: A New Kind of Symmetry Shakes Up Physics

April 19, 2023

Congratulations to University of Chicago Alumnus Kaeli Hughes on winning the APS DAP dissertation prize!

April 19, 2023


Clay C√≥rdova receives the 2023 Sloan Research Fellowship

February 19, 2023

Clay Cordova

Congratulations to Linda Young!

February 2, 2023

Congratulations to Linda Young for receiving an Honorary Degree from Uppsala University!