News: 2020


Michel Fruchart Receives Suzuki Postdoctoral Fellowship Award

December 21, 2020

Michel Fruchart has been named one of four recipients of the 2020-2021 Suzuki Postdoctoral Fellowship Award, which recognizes outstanding postdoctoral researchers. He was nominated by his supervisor, Vincenzo Vitelli, and will be recieve a $10,000 prize.

Search of a lifetime’ for supersymmetric particles at CERN

December 8, 2020

A team of researchers at the University of Chicago recently embarked on the search of a lifetime—or rather, a search for the lifetime of long-lived supersymmetric particles, proposed particles that could explain quirks of the universe.


Pilot Tutoring Program Funded by the College Innovation Fund

September 30, 2020

The Department of Physics will be launching a pilot tutoring program beginning the second week of the quarter. The program, which is funded by the College Innovation Fund, will focus on fundamental math and physics skills needed for introductory physics.


University of Chicago to award Charles Kane an honorary degree at 2021 Convocation

July 31, 2020

The University of Chicago will present honorary degrees to six distinguished scholars at next year’s Convocation ceremony. Charles L. Kane, a theoretical physicist who received a bachelor’s degree in physics from the University of Chicago in 1985 and who is known for his work characterizing quantum electronic states of matter, will receive the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science.

Linda Young, leader in X-ray sciences, pursues innovation, both in research and mentorship

July 13, 2020

Argonne physicist searches for new uses for X-ray lasers and ways to support junior scientists.

photo credit Kenneth Johnson


General and Physics GRE policy for the 2020-2021 application cycle

June 21, 2020

General and Physics GRE not accepted for 2020 UChicago Physics graduate school applications.

University of Chicago STAGE lab docuseries takes viewers into the lives and labs of scientists

June 17, 2020

Curiosity: The Making of a Scientist is offering an online sneak peek of its pilot episode.
The pilot of the new documentary series that takes viewers into the lives and labs of scientists follows former University of Chicago Department of Physics graduate student Nathan Earnest-Noble as he researches quantum computing in the lab of Associate Professor David Schuster.

XENON1T Dark matter detector picks up unexplained new signal

June 17, 2020

The XENON1T detector, tucked into an Italian mountainside to search for signs of a mysterious substance in the universe called dark matter, has picked up a new bump in the data that cannot be explained by current models.
On June 17, Evan Shockley, graduate student in the group of Professor Grandi, presented the results of a new analysis of XENON1T data searching for anomalies in the electron recoil channels.


Daine Danielson Receives Hertz Foundation Fellowship

May 29, 2020

Graduate student Daine Danielson has been awarded the 2020 Hertz Foundation Fellowship, which supports five years of graduate research as well as lifelong professional support, including mentoring and networking within a connected, influential community of Hertz Scholars. Danielson's research explores the phenomenology of fundamental particles and fields, developing novel applications toward nuclear security and nonproliferation, and deepening our understanding of the natural world.

Professor Sidney Nagel elected to the American Philosophical Society

May 13, 2020

Sidney Nagel

Professor Sidney Nagel is one of three UChicago professors and two UChicago alumni from a variety of disciplines elected to the American Philosophical Society this year. Congratulations to him for this remarkable accomplishment!

Congratulations Amanda, Jordan, Henry, Owen, and Adam!

May 1, 2020

Congrats NSF Fellows

Congrats to our current and incoming graduate students for receiving NSF Graduate Student Fellowships and honorable mentions!


Congratulations to Paolo Privitera

April 21, 2020

Paolo Privitera has been selected as a winner of the Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring.