March 31-April 3, 2022
University of Chicago
Maria Goeppert-Mayer Lecture Hall (KPTC 106)

About Tom | Schedule | Registration | Location | Hotels | Attendees

Thursday, March 31 Maria Goeppert-Mayer Lecture Hall (KPTC 106)
3:00 pm Refreshments (KPTC 206 or in front of MGM)
3:30 pm Physics Department Colloquium by Tom Rosenbaum
4:45 pm Refreshments (KPTC 206 or in front of MGM)
Friday, April 1 Maria Goeppert-Mayer Lecture Hall (KPTC 106)
Two Roundtable Discussions
2:30 pm Chair: John Mark Hansen
Engaging science in the arts
Patrick Jagoda, Julie Marie Lemon, David Levin, Walter Massey, Larry Norman
3:45 pm Break (KPTC 206)
4:15 pm Responsibilities of universities and their faculties to society
Cathy Cohen, Hanna Gray, Walter Massey, Don Randel, Robert Zimmer
5:30 pm Adjourn
6:00 pm Banquet at Quadrangle Club (attendees must have registered)
Saturday, April 2 Maria Goeppert-Mayer Lecture Hall (KPTC 106)
Scientific Symposium
Session 1 Chair: Dan Stein
8:45 am Welcomes
9:15 am Gabriel Aeppli (Paul Scherrer Institute)
9:40 am Anke Husmann (University of Cambridge)
10:05 am Peter Littlewood (University of Chicago)
10:30 am Break
Session 2 Chair: Tom Witten
11:00 am Patrick Lee (MIT)
11:25 am Heinrich Jaeger (University of Chicago)
11:50 am Sayantani Ghosh (University of California, Merced)
12:15 pm Lunch
Session 3 Chair: Kathy Levin
2:00 pm Kathy Levin: Remembrance of Debbie Jin
2:05 pm Sue Carter (University of California, Santa Cruz)
2:30 pm Rafael Jaramillo (MIT)
2:55 pm Yejun Feng (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology)
3:20 pm Steven Sibener (University of Chicago)
3:45 pm Break (KPTC 206)
Session 4 Chair: Margaret Gardel
4:15 pm Charles Kane (UPenn)
4:40 pm Minhyea Lee (University of Colorado, Boulder)
5:05 pm Gordon Thomas (New Jersey Institute of Technology)
5:30 pm Reception for registered attendees
Sunday April 3 Maria Goeppert-Mayer Lecture Hall (KPTC 106)
Session 5 Chair: Young-Kee Kim
9:00 am Matthew Tirrell (University of Chicago)
9:25 am Ravindra Bhatt (Princeton University)
9:50 am Susan Coppersmith (University of New South Wales)
10:15 am Break (KPTC 206)
Session 6 Chair: Sid Nagel
10:45 am Daniel Reich (Johns Hopkins University)
11:10 am Michael Turner (University of Chicago)
11:35 am Raghuveer Parthasarathy (University of Oregon)
12:00 pm Ka Yee Lee (University of Chicago)
12:25 pm Adjourn