University of Chicago to award Charles Kane an honorary degree at 2021 Convocation

July 31, 2020

The University of Chicago will present honorary degrees to six distinguished scholars at next year’s Convocation ceremony. Charles L. Kane, a theoretical physicist who received a bachelor’s degree in physics from the University of Chicago in 1985 and who is known for his work characterizing quantum electronic states of matter, will receive the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science.

Linda Young, leader in X-ray sciences, pursues innovation, both in research and mentorship

July 13, 2020

Argonne physicist searches for new uses for X-ray lasers and ways to support junior scientists.

photo credit Kenneth Johnson

General and Physics GRE policy for the 2020-2021 application cycle

June 21, 2020

General and Physics GRE not accepted for 2020 UChicago Physics graduate school applications.

University of Chicago STAGE lab docuseries takes viewers into the lives and labs of scientists

June 17, 2020

Curiosity: The Making of a Scientist is offering an online sneak peek of its pilot episode.
The pilot of the new documentary series that takes viewers into the lives and labs of scientists follows former University of Chicago Department of Physics graduate student Nathan Earnest-Noble as he researches quantum computing in the lab of Associate Professor David Schuster.

XENON1T Dark matter detector picks up unexplained new signal

June 17, 2020

The XENON1T detector, tucked into an Italian mountainside to search for signs of a mysterious substance in the universe called dark matter, has picked up a new bump in the data that cannot be explained by current models.
On June 17, Evan Shockley, graduate student in the group of Professor Grandi, presented the results of a new analysis of XENON1T data searching for anomalies in the electron recoil channels.

Daine Danielson Receives Hertz Foundation Fellowship

May 29, 2020

Graduate student Daine Danielson has been awarded the 2020 Hertz Foundation Fellowship, which supports five years of graduate research as well as lifelong professional support, including mentoring and networking within a connected, influential community of Hertz Scholars. Danielson's research explores the phenomenology of fundamental particles and fields, developing novel applications toward nuclear security and nonproliferation, and deepening our understanding of the natural world.

Professor Sidney Nagel elected to the American Philosophical Society

May 13, 2020

Sidney Nagel

Professor Sidney Nagel is one of three UChicago professors and two UChicago alumni from a variety of disciplines elected to the American Philosophical Society this year. Congratulations to him for this remarkable accomplishment!

Congratulations Amanda, Jordan, Henry, Owen, and Adam!

May 1, 2020

Congrats NSF Fellows

Congrats to our current and incoming graduate students for receiving NSF Graduate Student Fellowships and honorable mentions!

Congratulations to Paolo Privitera

April 21, 2020

Paolo Privitera has been selected as a winner of the Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring.


Congratulations to Bjorn Scholz

November 21, 2019

Recent alumnus Bjorn Scholz has been honored by the American Physical Society.

Heising-Simons Foundation Support for Women in Physics

October 15, 2019

A generous grant from the Heising-Simons Foundation supports lectures by Women in Physics

Congratulations to Daine Danielson

September 24, 2019

First-year graduate student Daine Danielson has been awarded the 2019 Innovations in Nuclear Technology R&D Award by the US Department of Energy for his work on, "Directionally Accelerated Detection of a Second, Unknown Reactor with Antineutrinos for Mid-Field Nonproliferation Monitoring."

Congratulations to Tali Khain

September 17, 2019

First-year graduate student Tali Khain has been awarded an APS Apker Award for outstanding achievement by an undergraduate student. She did her undergraduate work at the University of Michigan. She ours now!

Congratulations to Michael Levin

September 9, 2019

Associate Professor Michael Levin

Event Horizon Telescope Awarded 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

September 5, 2019

John Carlstrom

Professor John Carlstrom